Paul Harris Awards

The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation.

Rotary established the recognition in 1957 to encourage and show appreciation for substantial contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only program, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships.

The first Paul Harris Fellows included past RI Director Allison G. Brush, who served during the 1937-38 Rotary year, and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F. Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs. Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs. Harry L. Jones was the second, and one of only five people recognized for contributions actually made in that inaugural year.

The number of Paul Harris Fellows reached the 1 million mark in 2006, including the following members from the Rotary Club of York:

Chee, Charles
Chen, Eva
Cheng-Hui, Mandy
Cohen, David
Ho, Jones Ka Hong
How, David
Hui, David
Leung, David
Leung, Nancy
Lew, Grayson
Luk, Joseph
Luk, Mary
Menegakis, Costas
Mong, Wendy
Raheel, Hadia
Shek, Sharon
Shum, Gerald
Tam, Cecilia
Unidad, Melissa
Wong, Peter
Wu, Sylvia Shan Shan
Yee, Jason
Yeh, Michael
Yip, Billy
Ing, Helen
Wu, Stanley
Au, Doris
Cheung, Paul
Cheung, Rima
Fung, Janet
Ho, Sunny
Ho, Tit Man
Hui, James Wai Hing
Li, Fred
Shiu, Douglas
Wong, Lena
Wong, Michael
Wong, Richard
Wong, Tonny